2012-13 American grantees at the Annual Recognition Ceremony
Fulbright Grantees
The Fulbright Program is a key public diplomacy effort between the United States and Sweden. The program provides Swedish and American citizens—chosen for their academic merit and leadership potential—with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research in the US and in Sweden. Each year, approximately 15 Swedes receive grants to study or conduct research in the US, and approximately 15 Americans receive grants to do the same in Sweden.

The Fulbright Program in Sweden works closely with cooperating agencies in the selection and supervision of particular grantee categories: The Institute of International Education (IIE) for graduate students; the Council for International Exchange of Scholars (CIES) for scholars; and the United States Department of State.

Many Fulbright grantees are early-career professionals who will return to take leadership positions in Sweden or the U.S., often working at universities or in government service. The grantees are diverse in their fields of study, institutional affiliations, and backgrounds. Each grantee provides invaluable contributions to the Fulbright Program in Sweden and in the United States. 

Faces of Fulbright - Sweden

In celebration of the 60th anniversary of the Fulbright Program in Sweden, the Commission  created a series of short feature films focusing on the activities of its grantees. These films were made by Fulbright alumnus, Ryan Tebo. Click here to be linked to the Commission YouTube page.

Shiuli Pujari (2011) - Stem cell research, Uppsala University

Dr. Susan Hegeman (2012) - Distinguished Chair in American Studies, Uppsala University

Ryan Drickey (2011) - Swedish folk music, Royal School of Music, Stockholm

Julian Olidort (2011) - Swedish glass industry, Växjö

Elisa Lopez (2011) - Study of the Sámi population, Jokkmokk and Uppsala