Dr. Sandra Braman (2010), Fulbright Specialist at Södertörn University
Fulbright Specialists Program

The Fulbright Specialist Program
is designed to provide Swedish academic institutions the opportunity to invite U.S. faculty and professionals to Sweden for a short-term visit (14-42 days). Shorter grant length allows specialists greater flexibility to pursue a grant that best suits their current academic or professional commitments.

Fulbright Specialist projects provide U.S. faculty and professionals opportunities to collaborate with their counterparts at Swedish post-secondary academic institutions on curriculum and faculty development, institutional planning and a variety of other activities. This grant is given on a rolling basis throughout the academic year.

For U.S. qualified candidates:
As this program is based on the need of institutions of higher education in Sweden, candidates on the Specialist Roster are encouraged to reach out independently to Swedish organisations and institutions of higher education to make their interests known. The Fulbright Commission can not recommend institutions.

The Swedish institution then applies to the Fulbright Commission to invite the Specialist. Dates and timing of the visit need to be discussed before submitting the proposal and included in the institution’s application.

As funding for this program comes from the U.S. government, the number of Specialists that can be accepted ls currently limited to five (5) for Sweden. Applications are accepted on a rolling basis.

From January 2017, this program is administered for ECA by World Learning. More information for both US applicants and Swedish host insitutions can be found at the World Learning website:


For Swedish Institutions:
To request an application, please contact the Fulbright Commission a minimum of two months prior to the intended project start date. Applications to Swedish institutions will be
processed through the Fulbright Commission. Once approved, the Specialist project request is forwarded to the U.S. Department of State for final approval.