Swedish Arctic scholar, Aslı Diş with Nobel Laureate Aziz Sancar
Grants for Scholars

There are four exchange opportunities available to Swedish scholars:

1. Fulbright Scholar Program (Visiting Lecturer/Research Scholar)

Grants for Swedish postdoctoral scholars who wish to conduct advanced research and /or lecture in the United States and who have an established affiliation with an American university or research center. The period of stay in the United States is a minimum of three months with visa sponsorship up to twelve months. Applications are welcome from recent postdoctorate scholars to full professor level candidates. Scholars already conducting research with a U.S. institution at the time of application are not eligible. Scholars who have not yet completed their doctoral degree at the time of application will need to present evidence of completion of the degree prior to their departure to the United States. The grant award consists of SEK 50,000, round-trip travel to the United States and accident and sickness insurance.

Eligibility requirements:

- established affiliation with an American university of research center
- fluency in English
- Swedish citizenship

OBS! Applicants issued a J-1 visa as a research scholar must wait for a period of 24 months to be considered eligible for this program. Scholars already conducting research at a U.S. institution at the time of application are not eligible.

The online application is available from the first week of August for the following year. Click here for the most recent link. Applicants should read the Application Instructions thoroughly, prior to completing the Online Application. A printed or scanned copy of the Applicant Cover Sheet should also be sent to the Commission by the deadline.

Applications should be submitted by January 8, 2018. Applicants will be informed of their status via email by the end of February 2018.

Click here for a downloadable .pdf version of the program announcement.


2. Fulbright Arctic Intiative

The U.S. Department of State’s Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs is pleased to announce the second Fulbright Arctic Initiative for scholars and professionals from the eight Arctic Council member countries.  The deadline for scholars and professionals to apply to the Swedish Fulbright Commission is October 16, 2017. The Fulbright Commission will submit its nominees, chosen from among eligible applicants, to the Institute of International Education (IIE), by November 13, 2017. Successful candidates will be notified of their selection in February 2018.

To apply:

Click here for the link to the Application instructions and Online Application for Visiting (non-U.S.) scholars.

Background:  The Fulbright Arctic Initiative supports scholars, researchers and professionals from Arctic Council member countries to carry out collaborative research on public policy questions related to the unique challenges of the Arctic region.  The goal is to create a network to stimulate international collaboration on Arctic issues while increasing mutual understanding between people of the United States and the people of other countries.

This second Fulbright Arctic Initiative, for which program activities will begin in spring 2018, will include both established experts and early-career specialists from the eight Arctic Council states (United States, Canada, Denmark, Finland, Iceland, Norway, Russia, and Sweden) for collaborative research in one of two focus areas: 

   - Community Resilience and Adaptation, and
   - Building Sustainable Economies. 

Scholars will participate in an individual Fulbright exchange, as well as convene with the other scholars for three in-person group seminars and on-going virtual communication to carry out team-based research.

Program Description: Based on available funding, approximately 12 outstanding scholars from the United States and the seven other Arctic Council states will be selected through an open, merit-based competition to participate in the program as Fulbright Arctic Initiative Scholars. Pending candidate eligibility, we anticipate that at least four of the scholars will be selected from the United States and at least one scholar will be selected from each of the other Arctic Council member states. Co-Lead Scholars Dr. Michael Sfraga of the Woodrow Wilson Center and Dr. Ross A. Virginia of Dartmouth College will provide intellectual leadership throughout the program.  Program activities will begin in spring 2018 and conclude in fall 2019.

The Arctic scholars will participate in an individual Fulbright exchange of
6 to 12 weeks. For the individual exchange, U.S. scholars will travel to one of the seven other Arctic Council states, and international scholars will travel to the United States.  In some cases, scholars will already have contact with colleagues at institutions or research centers and may arrange their own placements.  In other cases, the scholar’s affiliation will be arranged at sites appropriate for the proposed work by the Co-Lead Scholars, IIE, or Fulbright Commissions/Offices.

In addition to their individual exchange activities, scholars will work together in multi-disciplinary and multi-national research teams.

For additional information regarding the online application, contact arctic@iie.org. Download here the informational flyer of the program.

3. Study of the U.S. Institutes for Scholars

This program is currently closed. Please check back during the fall 2017 for more information.

4. The Fulbright Schuman Award

The Fulbright-Schuman Program, administered by the Commission for Educational Exchange between the United States and Belgium, is jointly financed by the U.S. State Department and the Directorate-General for Education and Culture of the European Commission. The program funds graduate and post-graduate study, research, and lecture proposals in the field of U.S.-EU relations, EU policy, or EU institutions for interested American and EU citizens.

Successful project proposals will observe an issue of common concern from a comparative perspective and will bear significance for more than one EU member state. Candidates are responsible for organizing their own affiliation with an accredited university, vocational training/professional institution, or independent research center in the EU or the U.S.

Preference is given to candidates with at least two years of related professional or academic experience beyond the Bachelor’s degree. Candidates with permanent positions at the European Commission are ineligible to apply. For further information, please see the Belgian Commission website here

Application deadline: TBA